Have you ever left a job you were happy with?

gamer.tv

I’ve been teaching at the same school for coming up to three years. I love it - despite the challenges, it’s a wonderful working environment to be part of. Despite that, I’m looking at applying for a role at a different school. This isn’t due to any dissatisfaction, but a few other factors:

It’s about 5 minutes from my house so no commute (and all the benefits that will bring me and my family)

Part of progression in teaching is working in different settings, with this being very different to my current one.

I’d love to test my skills in a new place.

The only thing that is holding my hand from applying today is my desire to complete a Masters, which I have laid a lot of groundwork for at my current place. 

But yeah - odd to want to leave whilst not actually being pushed to.

22 minutes ago, gamer.tv said:

I’ve been teaching at the same school for coming up to three years. I love it - despite the challenges, it’s a wonderful working environment to be part of. Despite that, I’m looking at applying for a role at a different school. This isn’t due to any dissatisfaction, but a few other factors:

It’s about 5 minutes from my house so no commute (and all the benefits that will bring me and my family)

Part of progression in teaching is working in different settings, with this being very different to my current one.

I’d love to test my skills in a new place.

The only thing that is holding my hand from applying today is my desire to complete a Masters, which I have laid a lot of groundwork for at my current place. 

But yeah - odd to want to leave whilst not actually being pushed to.

It sounds like you may be a bit bored and are looking for a new challenge. Nothing wrong with that. I'm in the same boat and just applied within my company for a new position due to wanting a new challenge/test my skills. 

I've only ever had jobs I tolerated, none that I was particularly happy with.