Georgia Republican Senate candidate Herschel Walker lies about being in law enforcement after lying about being valedictorian, graduating from UGA, and creating a veterans charity

220613-MB-Herschel-Walker-jg-489084.jpg
WWW.MSNBC.COM

GOP Senate hopeful Herschel Walker has publicly presented himself as having a background that bears little resemblance to his actual life.

As recently as 2019, Walker also told an audience, “I spent time at Quantico at the FBI training school. Y’all didn’t know I was an agent?”

Walker has never been an FBI agent. His campaign said he spent a week at an FBI school in Quantico, but a week does not an agent make. (He couldn’t have been an agent anyway, since agents are required to have college degrees, and Walker doesn’t have one, even though he’s claimed otherwise.)

The only meaningful experience the Georgia Republican appears to have with law enforcement was a 2001 incident in which the former athlete “talked about having a shoot-out with police.” Around the same time, Walker’s therapist called the police to say he was “volatile,” armed, and scaring his estranged wife.

7NFT4CP7UUDZHYST357TXQWGYA.JPG
WWW.AJC.COM

U.S. Senate candidate Herschel Walker regularly praises police officers. But was Walker in law enforcement himself?

So, what’s the real story? Walker’s campaign said he majored in criminal justice during his time at the University of Georgia and was an honorary deputy in Cobb County along with three other Georgia counties. (They did not specify which ones.)

The Cobb County Police Department said they have no record of involvement with Walker. The Cobb sheriff’s office could not immediately say if he was an honorary deputy or not.

But former DeKalb County District Attorney J. Tom Morgan said even if he was, that would give him no law enforcement authority. “It’s like a junior ranger badge,” he said.