How did you decide on job/career?

Remarkableriots

4 minutes ago, Remarkableriots said:

Any luck on that other job you were looking into?

People with more experience took both. Now we’re on a hiring freeze so unless I’m gonna toss my pension away and leave my system, which I’m nearly to that point because fuck the ER, I’m stuck.

• Like 1

Did construction in some form or another for years and ended up with a work injury that meant I had to go into the office or change careers entirely. My boss was kind enough to offer me to train for Estimating/Project Management for about two years and I'm still glad every day that I took that offer despite the severely reduced pay for a while. I've been doing that for about 13 years now.

• Like 1

24 minutes ago, gamer.tv said:

I wanted to feel satisfied with the outcome of my job, wanted to work with children, and wanted a job that actually paid enough to get a mortgage, improve my life outcomes. It isn’t perfect, but teaching is about as good a job as I could ask for. 

I've had 4 friends that I can think of that teach. One that taught for years before switching over to some program where she now teaches teachers. One friend became a principal, another that became a high school football coach but went back to teaching and one that helps children with learning disabilities. She has a master's degree in child development psychology or something like that.

3 hours ago, Remarkableriots said:

I've only ever been a cashier and would like to do something else but no idea what that would be. How did you figure out what you wanted to do for job/career?