RIP E3.

CastletonSnob

3 minutes ago, SaysWho? said:

Hard to believe that incredible E3s less than 10 years ago and the death of it so shortly thereafter. 

While hindsight is 20/20, and also I'm no expert so I'm probably full of shit, the only way forward I saw for E3 was to press on with a show regardless of who signed up for it, and hope to get at least a few big fish that would make the others realize they might be missing out. Just eat the losses for a shot at reviving the show. But they kept pussyfooting around until it died.

E3 was another relic of the 90s that refused to adapt to the changing world and keep up with the technology in the industry it serves. Covid-19 only hastened it by showing developers and publishers they didn’t need E3 any more. Nintendo had already figured this out years ago. 

they should have pivoted over a decade ago to be more like TGS and San Diego Comicon, a week long event for the fans, but with more and more at home connectivity and features to make It more integrated than TGS and PAX. 

• Halal 1

4 minutes ago, Spawn_of_Apathy said:

Nintendo had already figured this out years ago. 

I remember, maybe even on these boards sad well, people arguing Nintendo didn't know what they were doing pulling out of E3. It just made too much sense. There's no reason for these huge marketing machines to be sharing the spotlight with anybody. Nowadays even the smaller indie devs are working together to put on their own presentations.

E3 could definitely have survived if they had pivoted a decade ago into being the Comic-Con for games, but they couldn't bring themselves to do it.

16 minutes ago, AbsolutSurgen said:

I had one of those fuckers call me to try and get me to give him access to my computer with remote access.

I managed to keep him on the phone for over 20 minutes, before he figured out that I was stringing him along, and hadn't actually gone over to my computer..  20 minutes where he couldn't try to scam someone.