Looking to build a gaming PC. Need advise, please!

GameDadGrant

Hey y’all. As the topic says, I’m looking to either build or buy a new gaming rig. I’ve never done this before, so hoping to tap into your collective knowledge.

Whats a good brand to start off with? I’ve heard suggestions for something called “Skytech” and another called “Cyberpower” are these better than an HP or Alienware? 

Also, how much RAM should I look to get? 8 GB work well enough? 

Also wanna take suggestions on processors. Intel? Ryzen? Something else?

The budget is also like, $700. If possible.

Thanks in advance...!

Price out building it yourself vs buying one prebuilt.  It's not hard, the motherboard manual will tell you what to do for the most part and there are plenty of good youtube videos not made by The Verge on how to build a PC.  If you live near a MicroCenter then you can get a good price on processor/motherboard combos.  I'd do 16GB of RAM and I've been partial to the AMD Ryzen processors lately.

28 minutes ago, AbsolutSurgen said:

This and if you’re really serious about building one there are several board members who can give excellent advice. 

I built my first PC about 3-4 years ago now and it has been one of my favorite purchases ever. And it’s fun (albeit a little scary) to put it all together. 

The users on the PC boards were really helpful. Not sure if he’s still around but I believe @NextGen provided a lot of help. 

• Like 1

24 minutes ago, Keyser_Soze said:

You’re so into portable gaming why not go for a laptop?

Go for a desktop then stream via the Steam iOS/Android app :shock: 

With your budget, AMD is the route you want to go for your CPU, GPU is probably something like a 1660 Ti, definitely 16gb of RAM. Look for a 1tb m.2 SSD that’s on sale in the $70-80 range for a boot and gaming drive, and a 2-4tb 7200rpm HDD for storage.

• Like 1