You're forced to accept that an afterlife exists: which religion would you prefer to be right?

Fizzzzle

I find it hard to argue with Buddhism. Like, you keep getting recycled into new lives until you finally live a good one, and what's the reward? You get to escape the cycle of life and death. Results are unclear what happens after that, but I think the key word is "escape." To me, that means you finally cease to exist.

All of the other afterlives are so concerned with eternity. I find nothing so terrifying as the concept of eternity. If I graduated to Heaven, do I get to decide to nope out whenever I want? Like, after 200 years of whatever Heaven is, can I just say "okay, God, I'm starting to feel like this is getting old, can I just go to sleep now? ... Forever?" Something tells me that wouldn't fly.

Same with Norse religion. Your reward for dying in battle is to live forever in Valhalla in constant feast and battle, but you can never die again, at least permanently.

A lot of the old pagan religions have afterlives where you're just like... Chillin'. I don't know, in a cave somewhere. Nothing really to do, just hangin' out.

Just take Buddhism and make it so the escape is returning back to the beginning of your cycle and it repeats for eternity so you never have to face nothingness and at the same time you never have to worry about the existential terror of eternity as you never truly know that you are eternal  

7 minutes ago, stepee said:

I mean you do keep gettin better lives, some of them might be rly kewl

I want to see the future and live forever as me in "mind and soul". I don't need to have the same body, but I want a mostly fleshy one that sticks to my preferred traits.

2 hours ago, stepee said:

I mean you do keep gettin better lives, some of them might be rly kewl