The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power - Latest: Season 2 commences filming. Set catches fire.

TwinIon

As a refresher, Amazon spent $250M for just the rights to make a new Lord of the Rings television series, with a potential investment of $1B seeming possible.

In more recent news, Amazon has been extremely secretive about the project so far, with reports that the writers are being sequestered behind some hardcore security.

Still, they've also released their first teases of the project by revealing a map to explore.

Yup, that's Middle Earth.

Apparently the labels on the map and the text that Amazon's been releasing in their tweets could indicate that the show takes place during the second age, but I'm no Tolkien expert, so don't take my word for it. If that is true, it would mean that it's not a "Young Aragorn" show like some were speculating. 

The Hobbit movies were so uninspired that I’m not interested in any LotR media at all other than the books, which is pretty surprising given how much I loved the LotR movies. The Hobbit has even soured me on those a bit, which is something that rarely happens with me.

I hope this good.

1 hour ago, ManUtdRedDevils said:

If it wasn’t for the free shipping, I would drop Prime.  Their content is subpar. 

Yup. The TV stuff is a bonus. I mean at this point I only really watch The Grand Tour of their originals. I've seen other things but don't eagerly await the next watered down Tom Clancy thing or the next Le Carre adaption even though I enjoyed The Night Manager to some extent. I wouldn't pay for it otherwise.

4 minutes ago, GeneticBlueprint said:

Yup. The TV stuff is a bonus. I mean at this point I only really watch The Grand Tour of their originals. I've seen other things but don't eagerly await the next watered down Tom Clancy thing or the next Le Carre adaption even though I enjoyed The Night Manager to some extent. I wouldn't pay for it otherwise.