Do you get satisfaction from your job, or just the money you're paid for doing it?

gamer.tv

I'm hoping to successfully apply to be a teacher this October.  It's hard as although I hold a degree (the minimum standard to apply) it's 'Ordinary' which does not exactly say much about me academically (typically, on completion of sufficient credits in the UK, your scores are totaled and an overall grade is then given - 1st, 2:1, 2:2, 3rd and then at the bottom of the barrel 'Ordinary').  

But I feel it's a career path that I can get genuine enjoyment out of and more importantly, with experience would have the skillset to be in private education (namely where the money is). 

It's the only thing I've wanted as a working adult, to feel proud of my job.  So far I've been in full time work for 4 years and have never really felt satisfied with what I was doing.  It made enough to live in a house, buy things etc, but it wasn't something that made me happy.  It's why I left a management role (where I would suggest I'd develop, jump up two tiers and then move on within the next 3 years or so) to get experience working in a school.

But how about you, are you happy not loving your job for the paycheck, or do you prefer to potentially be paid less, for feeling like you are doing more?

For me it's 60% money 40% the satisfaction of what I accomplish. I just approached month 4 with my new employer and already was talked to about getting promoted. I work hard and I get satisfaction when employees I coach and develop move forward. But at the end of the day what keeps me engaged is having a job and a paycheck. 

I do not get satisfaction, but I enjoy my job. I wouldn't pick it over a game/movie/vacation if money was no issue, but I do not dread going to work,  or hate being at work. 

If I won a $200 million lottery today I would still work for a bit at least. My last job I would have immediately quit. I hated that place.