Bought a 3DS XL today and

best3444

4 hours ago, CastlevaniaNut18 said:

A Link Between Worlds

Mario 3D Land

Fire Emblem Awakening

Luigi's Mansion Dark Moon

Animal Crossing New Leaf

It's hard to narrow it down to five. There's so many amazing games for the system. 

Add 5 more! I'm completely new to the system. 

Good man, now join the 3ds thread for the few of us that remain.

not my top 5 but a must play

Zelda a link between worlds

animal crossing new leaf

metroid samus returns

dragon quest 7

Luigi Mansion 2

super Mario 3D land is also worth a play (but really I felt 3D world on Wii U was better)

-edit-

Also what model and color/design did you end up with for your 3ds?

1 hour ago, best3444 said:

If we really went in depth there is tons of games to recommend. It might be better if you told us what type of games you like and we can go from there. Just to explain the size of the 3ds library, i’ve got almost 120 titles and yet i’m still missing a lot of popular titles.

The Ace Attorney Trilogy is a great value for the price offered. If you like that you can get 4 to 6 separately. Poochy & Yoshi's Woolly World and Mario Maker should give you a lot of platforming goodness. I believe Luigi's Mansion 1 is also available now and would be worth playing if you haven't before.

7 hours ago, best3444 said:

Zelda a link between worlds and metroid samus returns seem interesting. I like action adventure type games like Zelda. I like platformers like Mario. 

I never played Majora mask ever. How did that turn out. 

Then do get Majora mask but also consider ever oasis which is an original title from the team that did the OOT & MM remasters for 3ds. Also look into resident evil revelations.

On the platformer front, get Kirby planet robobot. Sure it’s not difficult but it’s very charming and full of content.

I'm coming to the conclusion that I need to actually play Samus Returns and buy Luigi's Mansion from this thread.