Monkeypox, coming to a state near you, update: WHO declares "global health emergency"

Worth noting that this seems to be a “new” strain of monkeypox which is much more mild than the OG strain which has a 10% mortality rate. This strain, so far, is less than 1% deaths. However, what’s very odd about monkeypox is that the younger you are, the more deadly it is to you; children are the most likely to have the worse cases. Think like reverse-COVID in terms of “highest risk”.

9 hours ago, unogueen said:

Why can't a cooler animal infect us? Like an eagle, or a cobra. Unless this is one of those things that starts will ill willed procreation.

I've been fucking sharks for 3 months now but they just don't have any cool diseases to pass to us.

• Haha 1

NATIONALPOST.COM

MONTREAL — Montreal public health officials said on Thursday they are investigating 17 suspected cases of monkeypox virus infections, adding to the growing…

1)  It's reportedly the West Africa variant that is less virulent

2)  Transmission seems to be mostly from bodily fluids (i.e. not airborne) - it reportedly is difficult (but not impossible) to catch it from airborne transmission

3)  Not much to see here.

On 5/19/2022 at 2:22 PM, AbsolutSurgen said:
NATIONALPOST.COM

MONTREAL — Montreal public health officials said on Thursday they are investigating 17 suspected cases of monkeypox virus infections, adding to the growing…

1)  It's reportedly the West Africa variant that is less virulent

2)  Transmission seems to be mostly from bodily fluids (i.e. not airborne) - it reportedly is difficult (but not impossible) to catch it from airborne transmission

3)  Not much to see here.

Incorrect. It can spread via airborne mucus droplets from coughing/sneezing. It’s also a bit early to claim “not much to see here”, especially considering with how rapidly it seems to be spreading, but I’m simultaneously not claiming doom and gloom.

Anyway, it’s now in NYC. 

17 hours ago, Spork3245 said: